Successful Applicants for DIT Clicker Funding Award

In December we evaluated the vast numbers of applications for the DIT Clicker Funding Award and we are now delighted to announce the 11 successful applicants as:  Brendan O’Beirn, Ziene Mottiar, Barry Ryan, Patricia Ennis , Colm Agnew, Eoin Mclean, Thomas Shannon, Blaithnead Sheridan , Deirdre Lawless, Rosaleen McElvaney and Alice Luby. These applicants will be presented with their clickers at the LTTC Annual Showcase of Learning & Teaching Innovations on Wednesday 12th January 2011. Congratulations to all successful applicants who put considerable work in to proposals. Classroom response systems or clickers offer a tool for engaging students in the classroom. These systems have been used in a variety of fields and at all levels of education. The teacher or lecturer poses a question to the students; the students use the clickers to transmit answers by pressing the clicker buttons. Benefits of clicker use are generally described to be:

  • Increased participation of students
  • Peer engagement of students
  • Interactive teaching
  • Enhancement of large group learning and teaching

About Muireann O'Keeffe

I am an educational developer currently working at DCU. I have a passion for researching and evaluating technology that can support and enhance learning. In the past I have taught on Masters programmes (Msc Applied elearning & Postgraduate Diploma in Third level Learning and Teaching) as well as Leadership development programmes.
This entry was posted in clickers, funding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s